top of page
SOC12_First Nation Telegraph_banner (1)[12597].png

Excellence recognised at NRM Awards

[by Leanne Miles]


Willie Rioli. Image: supplied

The dedication and hard work of those working to protect Country, educate the community, solve land management issues and improve land practices to ensure sustainable management into the future has been recognised at the 2022 NT Territory Natural Resource Management Awards.

From Primary School students initiating a war on waste, to those working in remote communities to protect our threatened species, and those who have dedicated a lifetime to teach and support the next generation of land managers, all have excelled in the area of NRM management.

Hosted by Territory NRM since 2014, the awards recognise, celebrate and create greater public awareness of the diverse groups and projects that contribute to the sustainable management of the Northern Territory’s waterways, land and sea country.

Territory NRM CEO Karen May that these groups and individuals had been outstanding in their contributions to looking after the Northern Territory’s natural resources.

“These awards are an opportunity to highlight the work of those excelling in the areas of natural resource management and the time and energy they put into to looking after our land, water and biodiversity,” she said.

“I would like to congratulate all winners and finalists on this significant achievement.”

WARNING: Aboriginal peoples’ are warned that the following list contains information regarding a deceased person.

The winners are:

Best Collaboration in NRM Award: Indigenous Carbon Industry Network

Farmers & Fishers Sustainability Award: Umbearra Station

Indigenous NRM Award: Warddeken Land Management

Environment & Conservation Award: Dr David Liddle

Next Generation Natural Resource Management Award: Berry Springs Primary School

Ranger of the Year Award: Terrah Guymala - Warddeken Land Management

Resilient & Sustainable Enterprise Award: Tropiculture Australia

Lifetime Achievement Award: This award is shared between two inspiring Indigenous leaders.

Mr Rioli - Tiwi Resources (Tiwi Rangers)

Winston Thompson - Yugul Mangi Rangers / SEAL IPA

People’s Choice Award: Berry Springs Primary School

These awards are supported through funding from the Australian Government’s National Landcare Program and the generous support of our Conference partners.


Read more

Aboriginal rock art petroglyphs return home from museum [Erin Cooper, ABC] Two ancient pieces of Aboriginal rock art are making their way back to Tasmania's north-west after a long campaign to have them returned to the rugged coastline from where they were stolen in the 1960s.

Read more

These Aboriginal women have been crowned some of AFLWS best [Rachael Knowles, SBS] Brisbane Lions veteran Ally Anderson took home the Best and Fairest and Ashanti Bush claimed Goal of the Year.

Read more

2022 Australian Reconciliation Barometer released [supplied by Reconciliation Australia] During a time of dramatic global decline in public trust in institutions, the 2022 Australian Reconciliation Barometer (ARB) shows mutual trust between First Nations people and other Australians is steady.







bottom of page